Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Undergraduate Council is a university-wide committee that participates in the shared governance process at the University of Arizona. The Undergraduate Council reviews all undergraduate curricular action items forwarded from its two subcommittees, the Academic Programs Subcommittee and the Curriculum & Policies Subcommittee.

Action items may be received from academic units, colleges, auxiliary units, the Office of Academic Affairs, the University-wide General Education Committee, any General Faculty Standing Committee or Senate Standing Committee or ad hoc committee. Action items requiring Faculty Senate approval are forwarded by the Undergraduate Council to the College Academic Administrators Council and Team Provost for review prior to being sent to the Faculty Senate for final approval.

Representation is still pending from some colleges - in red below.

A.Y. 2014-2015


 

    Responsibilities of Undergraduate Council & Subcommittee Membership

     

    Undergraduate Council - Voting Members

    Member

    Title

    Term Ends

    Represents

    Phone

    E-Mail

    Subcommittee

    Voting Member

    Fabian Alfie

    Department Head, French & Italian

    2017

    Humanities

    621-5559

    alfie@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Patrick Baliani

    Assistant Professor, Honors

    2017

    Honors

    626-0798

    baliani@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Trey Cox   ASUA Senator Spring 2015   Associated Students of UA    treycoxiii@email.arizona.edu Academic Programs Yes 
    Suzanne Cummins Senior Lecturer, Management & Organizations 2016 Management 621-4193 scummins@eller.arizona.edu Academic Programs Yes
    Wendy Davis  Lecturer, Animal & Biomedical Sciences  2017

    Agriculture & Life Sciences

    621-5663  wdavis@ag.arizona.eduj    Academic Programs Yes

    Tom Fleming

    Senior Lecturer, Astronomy

    2016

    University-wide General Education Committee

    621-5049

    taf@as.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    Jerry Hogle Professor, English 2017 Social & Behavioral Sciences 621-1850 hogle@email.arizona.edu Curriculum & Policies Yes
    Todd Lutes Associate Professor, Government & Public Services, UA South 2017 UA South 626-2422 lutes@email.arizona.edu Academic Programs Yes
    Bobbi McKean Associate Professor, Theatre, Film & Television  2016 General Petitions Committee and Letters, Arts & Science   621-5620 bmckean@email.arizona.edu   Curriculum & Policies Yes

    Moe Momayez

    Associate Professor, Mining & Geological Engineering

    2016

    Engineering

    621-6580

    moe.momayez@arizona.edu

     

     

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Judy Nolen

    Clinical Assistant Professor, Nursing

    2016

    Nursing

    626-6172

    jnolen@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Mary Kay O'Rourke

    Associate Professor, Public Health

    2016

    Public Health

    626-6835

    mkor@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    Dennis Ray

    University Distinguished Professor, Plant Sciences

    2017

    UGC Chair

    621-7612

    dtray@email.arizona.edu

    Rotating

    Yes*

    Ahva Sadeghi

    ASUA Academic Affairs Director

    2015

    Associated Students of UA

     

    ahvas@email.arizona.edu 

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    Claudia Stanescu

    Assistant Professor, Physiology

    2016

    Physiology

    621-2795

    stanescu@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies Chair

    Yes

    Leslie Sult

    Associate Librarian

    2016

    UA Libraries

    626-3850

    lsult@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs Chair

    Yes

    Bob Wortman Associate Professor of Practice, Teaching/Learning and Sociocultural Studies 2017 Education 621-1751 wortman@email.arizona.edu Curriculum & Policies Yes

    Daniela Zarnescu

    Associate Professor, Molecular & Cellular Biology

    2016

    Science

    626-1478

    zarnescu@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    Lisa Zdechlik

    Associate Professor, Music

    2017

    Fine Arts

    626-9523

    zdechlik@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    Pending

     

     

    Architecture, Planning, & Landscape Architecture

     

     

    Academic Programs

     

    Yes

       *  The UGC Chair votes only in the event of a tie.

    Undergraduate Council - Non-voting Members

    Member

    Title

    Represents

    Phone

    E-Mail

    Subcommittee

    Voting Member

    Beth Acree Registrar  Office of the Registrar

    621-3432

    acree@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies  No
    Gail Burd  Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

    Office of Academic Affairs

    626-0202

    gburd@email.arizona.edu

    N/A

    No

    Roxie Catts

    Director

    Advising Resource Center

    626-7988

    catts@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    No

    Pam Coonan Senior Director, Academic & Curricular Affairs Curricular Affairs 621-0950  coonan@email.arizona,.edu Academic Programs No 

    Kathy Godwin

    Assistant Director

    Curricular Affairs

    621-9585

    kgodwin@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    No

    Celeste Pardee

    Assistant Director, Academic Policies & Organizatons

    Curricular Affairs

    621-5375

    cpardee@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    No

    Mary Staugaard

    Associate Director, Credit Programs

    Academic Initiatives

    626-2073

    staugaar@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    No

     Listserv Addresses

    Undergraduate Council Listserv

    ugc@list.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs Listserv

    ugc_programs@list.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies Listserv

    ugc_policies@list.arizona.edu

    Meeting Time:   Tuesdays, 3:30 - 5:00 PM

    Location:   Student Union - Pima Room (level 3, west hallway)

    Dates:

    September 9, 2014 --  Agenda

    October 7, 2014 -- Agenda

    November 4, 2014 -- Agenda

    December 9, 2014 -- Agenda

    January – no meeting 

    February 10, 2015 -- Agenda

    March 10, 2015 -- Agenda

    April 14, 2015 -- Agenda

    May – no meeting  

    Meeting minutes are not posted until approved; generally one month after each meeting.

    Minutes from September 9, 2014

    Minutes from October 7, 2014

    Minutes from November 4, 2014

    Minutes from December 9, 2014

    Minutes from February 10, 2015

    Minutes from March 10, 2015

    Minutes from April 14, 2015
     

    Undergraduate Council Chair

     Dennis Ray, University Distinquished Professor, Plant Sciences – 621-7612 or dtray@email.arizona.edu  

    Curricular Affairs Administrative Support Staff

     
    Pam Coonan, Senior Director, Academic & Curricular Affairs – 621-0950 or coonan@email.arizona.edu

    Celeste Pardee, Assistant Director, Academic Policies & Organizations – 621-5375 or cpardee@email.arizona.edu

    Kathy Godwin, Assistant Director, Curricular Affairs – 621-9585 or kgodwin@email.arizona.edu

     

     

    • No labels