The University of Arizona
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Undergraduate Council is a university-wide committee that participates in the shared governance process at the University of Arizona. The Undergraduate Council reviews all undergraduate curricular action items forwarded from its two subcommittees, the Academic Programs Subcommittee and the Curriculum & Policies Subcommittee.

Action items may be received from academic units, colleges, auxiliary units, the Office of Academic Affairs, the University-wide General Education Committee, any General Faculty Standing Committee or Senate Standing Committee or ad hoc committee. Action items requiring Faculty Senate approval are forwarded by the Undergraduate Council to the College Academic Administrators Council and Team Provost for review prior to being sent to the Faculty Senate for final approval.

A.Y. 2013-2014


 

    Responsibilities of Undergraduate Council & Subcommittee Membership

    Member

    Title

    Term Ends

    Represents

    Phone

    E-Mail

    Subcommittee

    Voting Member

    Beth Acree

    Registrar

    Ex-officio

    Office of the Registrar

    621-3432

    acree@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    No

    Fabian Alfie

    Department Head, French & Italian

    2014

    Humanities

    621-5559

    alfie@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Jordan Allison

    Academic Affairs Executive Director

    fall 2013

    ASUA

    303-475-5662

    jordanallison@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    Patrick Baliani

    Assistant Professor, Honors

    2014

    Honors

    626-0798

    baliani@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Gail Burd

    Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

    Ex-officio

    Office of Academic Affairs

    626-0202

    gburd@email.arizona.edu

     

    N/A

    No

    Susan Crane

    Associate Professor, History

    2016

    Social & Behavioral Sciences

    621-1113

    scrane@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Suzanne CumminsSenior Lecturer, Management & Organizations2016Management621-4193scummins@eller.arizona.eduCurriculum & PoliciesYes

    Thomas Fleming

    Senior Lecturer, Astronomy

    2014

    University-wide General Education Committee

    621-5049

    taf@as.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    George Gehrels

    University Distinguished Professor, Geosciences

    2014

    UGC Chair

    349-4702

    ggehrels@gmail.com

    Rotating

    Yes*

    Elena GoldASUAspring 2014ASUA621-2782

    elenahgold.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & PoliciesYes

    Patti King

    Director, Curricular Affairs

    Ex-officio

    Curricular Affairs

    621-4107

    pattik@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    No

    Bobbi McKean

    Associate Professor, Theatre, Film & Television

    2014

    Petitions Committee and Letters, Arts & Science

    621-5620

    bmckean@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    Moe Momayez

    Associate Professor, Mining & Geological Engineering

    2016

    Engineering

    621-6580

    mmomayez@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Judy Nolen

    Clinical Assistant Professor, Nursing

    2016

    Nursing

    626-6172

    jnolen@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Mary Kay O'Rourke

    Associate Professor, Public Health

    2016

    Public Health

    626-6835

    mkor@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    Dennis Ray

    University Distinguished Professor, Plant Science

    2016

    Agriculture & Life Sciences

    621-7612

    dtray@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    Natasha Reid

    Assistant Professor, Art

    Fall 2013

    Fine Arts

    621-7570

    nsreid@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Manisha Sharma

    Assistant Professor, Art

    (out fall 2013) 2015

    Fine Arts

    621-7034

    msharma1@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Claudia Stanescu

    Senior Lecturer, Physiology

    2016

    Physiology

    621-2795

    stanescu@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies Chair

    Yes

    Leslie Sult

    Associate Librarian

    2016

    UA Libraries

    626-3850

    sultl@u.library.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs Chair

    Yes

    David Torres

    Associate Professor, Commerce

    2014

    UA South

    626-2422

    dltorres@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Cindy Volk

    Associate Professor, Practice, Disability & Psychoeducational Studies

    2014

    Education

    621-5208

    cvolk@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    Yes

    Daniela Zarnescu

    Associate Professor, Molecular & Cellular Biology

    2016

    Science

    626-1478

    zarnescu@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

    Pending

     

    2016

    Architecture, Planning, & Landscape Architecture

     

     

    Curriculum & Policies

    Yes

       *  The UGC Chair votes only in the event of a tie.

    Undergraduate Council Associates

    Member

    Title

    Represents

    Phone

    E-Mail

    Subcommittee

    Voting Member

    Roxie Catts

    Director

    Advising Resource Center

    626-7988

    catts@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    No

    Kathy Godwin

    Assistant Director

    Curricular Affairs

    621-9585

    kgodwin@email.arizona.edu

    Rotating

    No

    Celeste Pardee

    Assistant Director, Academic Policies & Organizatons

    Curricular Affairs

    621-5375

    cpardee@email.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies

    No

    Mary Staugaard

    Associate Director, Credit Programs

    Outreach College

    626-2073

    staugaar@email.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs

    No

     Listserv Addresses

    Undergraduate Council Listserv

    ugc@list.arizona.edu

    Academic Programs Listserv

    ugc_programs@list.arizona.edu

    Curriculum & Policies Listserv

    ugc_policies@list.arizona.edu

    Meeting Time:   Tuesdays, 3:30 - 5:00 PM

    Location:   Student Union

    Dates:

    September 10, 2013 --  Santa Cruz Room, Level 3 -- Agenda

    October 8, 2013 -- Santa Cruz Room, Level 3 -- Agenda

    November 12, 2013 -- Sabino Room, Level 3 -- meeting canceled

    December 10, 2013 -- Santa Cruz Room, Level 3 – meeting canceled

    January – no meeting 

    February 11, 2014 -- Santa Cruz Room, Level 3 – Agenda

    March 11, 2014 -- Santa Cruz Room, Level 3 -- Agenda

    April 8, 2014 -- Santa Cruz Room, Level 3 – Agenda

    May – no meeting  

    Meeting minutes are not posted until approved; generally one month after each meeting.
     
    Minutes from September 10, 2013 

    Minutes from October 8, 2013

    Minutes from February 11, 2014

    Minutes from March 11, 2014

    Minutes from April 8, 2014

    Undergraduate Council Chair

     George Gehrels, University Distinquished Professor, Geosciences – 349-4702 or ggehrels@email.arizona.edu  

    Curricular Affairs Administrative Support Staff

     
    Patti J. King, Director, Curricular Affairs – 621-4107 or pattik@email.arizona.edu

    Celeste Pardee, Assistant Director, Academic Policies & Organizations – 621-5375 or cpardee@email.arizona.edu

    Kathy Godwin, Assistant Director, Curricular Affairs – 621-9585 or kgodwin@email.arizona.edu

    • No labels